Being a Mamaw…

Being a mamaw was one of the most wonderful things I have ever gotten to experience. My grandbabies were my life. I thought that when I had my own 2 kids was great but then when I got to hold my little granddaughter in my arms for the very first time, it was like I was in heaven. Then my grandson was born. That was such a wonderful feeling too. I felt my life was complete.

At the ages of 4 and 3 years old, that all suddenly ended. POOF! They were gone. Gone to live with another family. A family I didn’t know. A family, I hoped, would take care of them.

My daughter called me one late Tuesday evening and told me if I wanted to see my grandkids one more time, it better be before the following Thursday. After hearing her tell me why, my heart sank to my ankles. I was in such shock, I was speechless.  The following 2 days after that shocking telephone call, I worked 12 hours both day so therefore, I didn’t get to see them one last time before being sent to live with strangers no one in our family  knew. Had I been given the opportunity to adopt them, Lord knows I would have tried every way in the world to. But as you can see, I didn’t get that opportunity.

Long story -short, I haven’t been able to see my grandkids since August 21. 2014. I know it seems like not that long ago to some, but to me,  it seems like a lifetime ago.

Hopefully they will come looking for me and want to see me if nothing more than to ask questions and to get to know me again. If not, I will look for them.

Until then, I will always live with a broken heart.

XOXOX

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

